Reading…

I haven’t updated my books read list in some time and yet I have been reading away, as alway! Not much else you can do, but sleep, when you’re feeling rough. I’m going to add a few that I can remember but I seem to have gone through quite a few ‘so so’ books lately. The best of the bunch has been Sourcery, by Terry Pratchett which I got for my birthday and The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield which was excellent – also for my birthday. I had a re-read of Ken Follet’s Pillar’s of the Earth which I didn’t quite enjoy as much as the other times I’ve read it but that won’t stop me buying the follow up! I also read Alison Weir’s Innocent Traitor, which was very good although very sad. I’m obviously feeling in a rather Tudor mood at the moment having slogged my way through the Beeb’s Henry VIII series, I saw it through to the very end but found it so slow going and didn’t even realise it had reached the final episode…talk about ending in the middle of something!!!
This last week, I’ve been enjoying a new author – CJ Sansom, fabulous historical detective type stories – and again, I travelled back to Tudor times! The first one was a little slow to start but once I got into it I couldn’t put it down and raced onto the second one…which was glued to my hand until I finished it!!! This morning the postman has brought me a little Amazon order with the third one and there is a 4th one just out in hardback (although I will await the paperback version). I shall definitely re-read these at some point, they’re excellent. Also in my Amazon parcel was The 13th Apostle by Richard and Rachael Heller, The Shakespeare Secret by JL Carrell and The Art Thief by Noah Charney. I am spoiled for choice as to which one to start with however…I am a third of the way through The Rose of Sebastopol which although slow going, deserves finishing.
Last night I put the hair on Annie’s Nekkid Doll and today must get her face painted as I’m behind, I also have my entry for the Fabric cj to complete (again – I’m behind!). Tonight though I’m taking the chicks swimming after school – just hoping that I don’t pick up another lurgy while we’re there 😮

oh yes, on the list of things to do is to make a banner for the top – that purple stripe is grim!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

