What ho!

I've just finished reading 'Murder Must Advertise' by Dorothy L. Sayers – a 1001 book, and it has left me speaking in rather a jolly hockey sticks, what ho! type of fashion! I thought I would be in full possession of all the murdering facts last night but we went off to see James Bond – drool, and upon my return I managed a couple more chapters after putting the chicks away for the night before my eyes felt too heavy to remain open. No problem I thought, it's the weekend – plenty of reading time. Forgetting that I had a huge stack of laundry to do and the food shopping to do as well.

I enjoyed the book – it's made me want to watch that lovely old b&w film of Busman's Holiday right now! I've ordered the second book of Dorothy's that's on the list from the library – The Nine Tailors. I thought of buying it but I don't expect to find it around here in any of my second hand book trawls and they're pricey new so, the library it is. I rather like Peter Wimsey, he's a gentleman and very human…and he plays cricket. I wonder if Daniel James Bond Craig plays cricket, I can just imagine him in cricket whites but I digress…

Carole put me on to creating pages last weekend and it's taken me all week to get around to doing it – but they're there now, up in the top left hand slot and hopefully all my lovely lists are fully updated. There are quite a few additions in the 'I own this' category, the reason for which is my recent trawl of second hand booksellers, lol! I must say that I have received some books in absolutely splendid condition. The only problem is, I entered them all onto Bookcrossing as they were being acquired (like a good girl!) but as I was typing in the blurb from the back, I wanted to read each one…right now! (nothing new there, I'm nothing if not a 'get on and do it now' type of a girl!) So, I'm stuck for choice – shall I strike one from the list or read one that isn't on any list. The Invisible Man was looking particularly interesting this morning…
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What ho!

  1. Carole says:

    Your pages are looking jolly nice, what ho? absolutely spiffing!

  2. Alison says:

    Oh, Tree – The Nine Tailors! One of my absolute favourites – you’ve inspired me to find a copy and re-read it!

Leave a Reply

