The end of 2008…

came around very quickly! 

I have been trying to think of my favourite books of the year – I am notoriously rubbish at picking favourites. I think it's because generally, if I've finished a book then I've enjoyed it. I can pick a few new authors that I've stumbled across this year though. 

CJ Sansom and his Matthew Shardlake books – I bought two of these on a whim from Amazon early this year…cannot resist anything historical and if you put together historical and detective well..! The first one I thought was a little slow to get going but I persevered (based on the fact that I'd bought two of his books and wasn't about to be defeated at the first hurdle). I was glad I did because I enjoyed it and went straight on to read the next one. I am a serial series reader. If I've enjoyed one in a series I won't settle until I've read the rest! Fortunately, book 3 was available so I ordered that up and consumed it straight away. I was then stuck as book 4 was due out but in hardback and I don't buy hardback unless by accident! My sister came to the rescue with the in between size of paperback which she'd bought…not knowing that I already had read the other three. Now of course, I'm waiting for a book no. 5 but in the meantime I picked up a copy of Winter in Madrid in one of the local second hand shops. It'll be interesting to read this one, it's not a Shardlake story but is instead set around the time of the Spanish Civil War (I think!)

Jim Butcher and his Harry Dresden books – I bought one to see if I would enjoy them as much as I enjoyed the tv series. I didn't though…I enjoyed them even more! and yes, I read all of the available books one after the other. Now waiting for the next book to come out in paperback. There is a sort of prequel story available as well – not yet in paperback though. There is a good variety of characters in the books and Butcher introduces them into a story and brings them back in subsequent books so that you get to know them really well. My favourites, apart from Harry, are Michael and Thomas. I will say no more about them though so as not to spoil any plots/storylines.

Charlaine Harris and her Lily Bard books – cozy detective type stories with a superb heroine at the helm. I've thoroughly enjoyed reading these – I have only one left to read :sigh: Great for reading in between the more challenging books that I have on my lists well, they would have been if I could have managed to save them to do that with!

I've read lots of other great books by authors new to me this year – they'll be in my list at the side but these are the ones that have stuck in my mind.

We're off out for a chinese banquet tonight. We're not big into new year celebrating but thought it would be pleasing to mark the evening with a treat. The children love Chinese food – we all love Chinese food in fact and I am looking forward to a break from the cooking! We'll be back home way before midnight though as our table is booked for 7pm – plenty of time left for me to try and finish the strange and bizarre Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas before the bells chime.
Happy New Year
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

