Gah!

I went to watch Matthew play in a school football match last night – he was all decked out in his extremely neon-bright goalie outfit and I forgot to take the camera 😮 Froze my feet off as well, his game was last out of three…if I'd known how much time I was going to be standing there waiting I could have probably gone back home and fetched the camera! He played brilliantly too – did many fabulous saves – they all look good to me but I was fortunate to be standing next to one of his coaches from junior league football…and they only say things like 'great save' when it really is a great save!

Meant to post this pic last week but kept forgetting to scan (and I know I'm a bit lacking in the picture front lately, which makes for a lack-lustre blog post really) – anyway, I received a package from Nat last week with two more Nora Roberts books in it and this gorgeous card – all of her cards are fabulous but check this very personalised one out…

Img023

I read a book called Black Water last night, another from the 1001 list and one which it is unlikely I would picked up otherwise. Carole raved about this book…and she was not wrong! It is now in an envelope waiting to be posted on to the next reader. You know the scene in The Great Escape where Steve McQueen is making his bid to jump over the barbed wire on the motorbike? Well, it doesn't matter how many times I watch that film, I still hold my breath and hope that this time he'll make it, knowing all the while of course that he won't! This book is the same in a way, but I'll say no more in case you want to go out and get a copy and read it yourself – it is a work of fiction but based is on the events of the scandalous Chappaquiddick affair.

I must away now and do some jobs before commencing my next book!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gah!

  1. Natty says:

    LOL I had to double-take for a minute there! It looked familiar then the dur moment of brain engaging arrived. hehe
    I must confess to having had to extend my renewal at the library again, still not managed to read a full chapter of my book that is on the go! I need to go and disappear to a dark quiet place for a while so i can get into it, alternativel, take the bus to and from work for a few days. LOL

  2. Carole says:

    Nice card! 🙂
    I’m so glad you liked Black water. I think it’s probably one of my favourite books from last year.

Leave a Reply

