Quick Update

I've been meaning to do a post for days now and not getting around to it. Festive and sporty social engagements for the children are taking up a fair amount of time and when not doing the usual 'jobs' I've been finishing off my DJ swap blocks – they're all done now and on their way to the hostess (phew!). I was a bit hesitant about joining in with this swap having only recently started making these blocks but it went better than I expected. I made one block that I've made before and two blocks that were completely new to me – all with plenty of needleturn applique on them. The more practice I get the better the results are :D 

Dec8(3) 

Dec8(4) 

Dec8(5) 

I've also spent a little time with the curly tree – it's quite a challenge but I'm determined that it will be done…eventually!

Dec8(6) 

I think I need to make a list of things that I intend to work on and finish next year. I recently dug out some cross stitch as a little break from the applique and then of course, I went surfing and discovered some beautiful Christmas ornaments that needed to be stitched! I fell in love with the designs of Little House Needleworks and Country Cottage Crafts earlier this year. It was very difficult indeed to pick a design to begin with – they're all gorgeous. I love Geraniums so I began with Geranium Cottage from Country Cottage and then got thoroughly distracted by various things so there's only a little bit of stitching done on it – I intend to try and finish this before the New Year (!!!)

Dec8(1) 

Not a brilliant picture, it's a bit dark here this morning.

Now – the ornaments. These are by Little House Needleworks, as mentioned above and there will be one a month to stitch. The first one is called Fa La La and I've been having a bit of fun with it…well it wasn't too fun when I realised that I can't count and had to undo 😮 (that's why it looks like I've started stitching one tree before finishing the other one!) 

Dec8(2) 

I intend to finish this to hang on this year's tree!

Far too many lovely and tempting things around to sew at the moment. I've signed up for a SAL to encourage me to get my Blackbird Designs stockings stitched…and guess what? While I was reading the SAL blog I spotted another few things that were calling out to me. Enough though, I'll be tempted no further until a finish occurs. There's a new Inklingo collection out as well – Orange Peel. Gorgeous designs to be made from that one but I dare not download it, my POTC require some attention (planned for over Christmas).

I'd better go and squeeze in a little sewing before it's time to collect the children from school, lol! 

 
 
 

 
 
 

This entry was posted in Applique, Cross Stitch, Dear Jane, Inklingo. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quick Update

  1. Margaret says:

    Snap! I’m doing the LHN Fa La La as a SAL on the blog too.
    I’m not having much luck either as can’t seem to settle on which fabric to use. I’ve started and re-started about three times now 😦
    Margaret

Leave a Reply

