Friday Night Sew In – September

I had a bit more than a Friday Night Sew In – I had a whole Friday Sew In 😮 I had booked a class at Patchwork Chicks – the quilt was so pretty, I couldn't resist and part two is on my birthday so it was meant to be, lol! I had the tricky job of choosing fabric for the quilt before I set off for the class of course, always a nail biting experience for me. I had been tempted to buy some Park Avenue…I have a couple of fat quarters already (they're destined to become a cushion) and really like the fabric but…I was looking at my stash of French General and it looked a bit neglected – I've only made a bag from it so far, and so I decided it was time to cut it up! 

Yesterday in the class we got started on the centre applique panel and I managed to fussy cut the bird for the centre of the design…here's the progress so far (I'm itching to do more)

1809-1 

I managed to put together everything from stash for this quilt except for the large outer border, it finishes at about 54"x54" I think. The rest of the quilt is made up of 4.5" squares some of which have stitcheries of quilt block designs in them. I did make a start on a stitchery yesterday but there isn't really enough done to show just yet. I did buy a metre of the beautiful blue bird print from Rural Jardin for the outer border – it's my absolute favourite from that line of fabric.

When I got home John and Catherine had an evening of kayaking planned and Matthew was communing with his friends on Xbox live so I was all set to carry on sewing 😀

I had brought a couple of little bundles of wool felt home with me – needed for Lynette Anderson's Beehive Sewing book. Patchwork Chicks sell great little bundles of felt for £2.50 which is much more affordable for projects that need only a little bit of felt than buying great huge pieces. I was eager to play with the felt so I did…

1809-2 

1809-3

and these were the result!

I had already appliqued the beehive onto the front of the book and done the stitchery on it – I'd come to a full stop though because of the lack of felt. I'm really pleased with how it's turned out – I would have carried on to finish it off last night but a) I was shattered and b) I had forgotten to buy a magnetic clasp!

I'll be slipping off to the market while Catherine's having her hair cut to get one so that I can finish this off later on. Since I stitched the My Little Heart block for August I seem to have added a bumble bee obsession to my bird obsession  -  I have a few more bumble bee things in my stash to make at some point!

So that's my Whole Friday Sew In – I had a fabulous day, it was a lovely treat and I'm already looking forward to the next one and seeing what everybody else got up to with their needles and thread last night. 

 

 

This entry was posted in Applique, Friday Night Sew In, Lynette Anderson, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friday Night Sew In – September

  1. I absolutely love the way you fussy cut the bird into the centre of the block! The book is gorgeous too! 🙂 Don’t you love sewing wth felt? So wonderfully soft on the hands.
    Hugs
    Jenny

  2. Carole says:

    Well you were a busy bee and no doubt LOL
    The quilting is pretty but I’m in love with the felt beehive and I don’t even like bees!

  3. Margaret says:

    The block is gorgeous but then I’m still having a love affair with Rouenneries and Rural Jardin so anything made from those fabric lines gets my vote.

Leave a Reply

