One Flower Wednesday Christmas Style

It's been a little while since I added to my garden and strictly speaking I'm not adding to it this week either! I finished off the snowflakes for Dawn's Frosty Flakes BOW and have just the embroidery left to do on them. I think I'll call this my winter garden šŸ™‚ I will have this finished before Christmas and hanging on the wall but I need to buy something for the sashing and borders when I'm next at Patchwork Chicks (that will be on my birthday later this month). 

0610-2

I'm ironing this loveliness this morning – it's called Sew Chick and is destined to become Dresden Plates. I LOVE Dresden Plates as much as I love pinwheels! I'm awaiting the delivery of a lovely pattern that I stumbled across last week which is all made up of embroidered and pieced Dresden plates…that's for the future though.

0610-3

 

I'm wishing the postman would hurry up actually – I'm still waiting for a delivery of Kaffe Fassett fabrics so that I can get started on my Kim McClean Hearts and Flowers quilt. I went to the copying shop and had it all enlarged as per the instructions in the book (Quilt Romance by Kaffe) and now I just need a delivery! This is my first venture into using Kaffe fabrics which are considerably out of my comfort zone both colour and pattern wise. I did have a small delivery from a UK shop and the colours of the fabrics are stunning. I'm looking forward to the challenge. I could get all my shapes traced while I'm waiting – I think I will so that I'm ready to go when the postman delivers. 

While I'm busy with the stitching the rest of the family are happily playing with kayaks…I have had a go and I enjoyed it however my back wasn't happy about it at all and made its feelings very plain! We have a new addition to the family – I'm fairly sure that it's not meant to be living in the house really but I'm told it needs to dry off after a good dunking on Monday night.

0610-1

Look at it lounging there in the conservatory with all its associated 'stuff' šŸ˜® John was very canny when he bought these new members of the family…one is green and the other is orange, two of my very favourite colours!

I see the postman coming down the path…

This entry was posted in Frosty Flakes, Hearts and Flowers, Kaffe Fassett, Kim McClean, One Flower Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to One Flower Wednesday Christmas Style

  1. Gina Smith says:

    Love the hexagons and those fabrics. I’m looking forward to seeing the dresden plate quilt as like you I like them aswell
    Love and hugs Gina xxx

  2. Ines says:

    Beautiful flowers and lovely fabric.
    Greetings
    Ines

  3. Marieke says:

    And? Did the postman bring your fabrics? Love your frosty flakes!

  4. Karen says:

    Your winter garden is going to be lovely!

  5. Carole says:

    I’ve no idea what a Dresden plate is, but the fabric is very pretty and I’m looking forward to finding out šŸ˜‰
    Love the Kayak in the conservatory. It’s different, I’ll give you that. And it is a jolly nice colour.
    So, postie. Did he bring the expected fabrics? You can’t leave us hanging like that…

  6. The flakes/flowers are lovely and I’m looking forward for the dresden plates.

  7. Karen says:

    Lovely, looking forward to seeing them completed with the embroidery.

  8. tineke says:

    well, the flowers are beautiful nonetheless!

  9. Kate says:

    The flowers are really lovely…and the fabric..looking forward to seeing the Dresden plate project…I love them too..xx

  10. Margaret says:

    Your flowers are pretty and the fabrics are yummy.
    I’m dying to see the Dresden Plate project as anything that has a combination of sewing and embroidery is right up my street!

Leave a Reply

