Pennsylvania Dutch and Civil War

I was tidying yesterday and came across a partially cut out block for the Pennsylvania Dutch quilt. In the spirit of tidying up loose ends it seemed rude not to finish it off.

0701-1

These blocks finish at 12" and they go together so quickly it's embarrassing that I don't have more of them completed. Now there is quite a large amount of leftover fabric from these blocks and I had been wondering what to use to make Barbara Brackman's Civil War blocks. I like the warm colours of Maison de Garance but what I have of that is already spoken for so it would mean going off to buy some more. No time for going shopping at the moment and I really wanted to get the first block made before the second is available otherwise. The solution was immediately at hand so I set to and cut out more of the Minick and Simpson and before long I'd completed the first Civil War block.

0701-2

These blocks finish at 8" and I'll need to buy some fabric for sashing and a border but other than that I think I'll be able to mainly use the leftover Pennsylvania Dutch fabric. Not sure what colour to use for the sashing, perhaps that will become clear when I've made a few more blocks – I'd like to add the sashing as I go along really.

This entry was posted in Civil War Sesquicentennial Quilt, Pennsylvania Dutch quilt. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pennsylvania Dutch and Civil War

  1. Toni says:

    Beautiful blocks – you are certainly starting 2011 on a crafting note.
    Toni xx

Leave a Reply

