Some Kind of Wonderful progress…

Last week I spent the most time working on my monthly cottages project

260912-1

Finished this one…

280912-1

and made a start on the next one.

I did get the chance to finish off a couple more blocks for the SKOW quilt.

The kitty cat…

011012-1

I enjoyed stitching this and it turned out to be quite easy to needle turn.

The next one I made to replace the shoes block in row 4 as I'm not really a fan of high heels. I am a fan of bees though so I made a beehive with some embroidered buzzy bees…

011012-2

I enjoyed making this one too!

Not a lot of sewing time over the weekend. On Saturday Catherine and I went to see the new Resident Evil film which we've been looking forward to for ages. Lots of Alice in action but the story was quite lacking I thought. On the way home we detoured via Abakhan fabrics (it was a detour too as it's in completely the opposite direction) so that I could pick up a few supplies. I didn't actually go to buy fabric but really – what stitcher is going to walk into a fabric shop and not even take a peek at the fabric? I came out with this…

011012-3

because I just couldn't leave without it! I have no idea what to use it for but for now I'm enjoying looking at it 🙂 It was a bit pricey compared with Abakhan's normal fabulous prices but I notice that it's actually made by a New Zealand company so perhaps that's the reason. It's called 'A Stitch in Time' by Nutex. I really like it a lot!

 

I am linking up with Sinta's BOM rehab and Lynn's BOM's Away today.

This entry was posted in 2012 stitching, Some Kind of Wonderful SAL. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Some Kind of Wonderful progress…

  1. Hi, Theresa – What awesome fabric for a bee hive!

  2. Simone says:

    The colors to the cross stitch are so pretty! I always wonder how designers get the touch of that.
    Lovely appliqué blocks and great fabric find. Of course you couldn’t go away without it (:

  3. Karen says:

    Absolutely love the puddy cat and beehive, you’ve made a great job of them. I can’t wait to see this finished. I love all your work but I think this quilt must be my favourite! xxx

  4. marcella says:

    Your blocks are looking wonderful! The beehive block you made is really lovely and you found the perfect fabric for it.

  5. Sherry says:

    I had nothing to add to rehab this week so I am visiting to be inspired. You got so much done and I love the fabric you bought! I love the behive block.

  6. Carole says:

    That’s a very clever beehive and I love the cat block 🙂

  7. Your month houses are just so beautiful. And your bee block is adorable! Did you design it as a replacement? What great fabric you found. I would have taken it home, too!

  8. Sinta says:

    I love that sweet little beehive! Your other needle work projects are gorgeous as well!!

  9. Connie says:

    Beautiful blocks especially the bee hive! I love the Resident Evil films too….my husband thinks I’m crazy 🙂

  10. Lix says:

    Love your purses and your sewing fabric panel.

Leave a Reply

