Holiday Lane Blog Hop – Grinch Lane!

Holiday Lane blog hopThanks for stopping by to visit me on the Holiday Lane blog hop. I have had such a great time with this lovely pattern. Huge thanks to Mdm Samm and Pauline for their time and work organising this fun event for us and another thank you – to Jill Finley  who designed the pattern and allowed it to be used for the hop. It has been an absolute pleasure from start to finish to make this pillow.

I started out by wondering what fabrics to use. I don't have a huge amount of Christmassy fabrics in my stash. However, one day much earlier in the year I was browsing Fat Quarter Shop's new in category (as I am wont to do in a spare moment) when a little voice piped up "ooh, the Grinch – I love him. Please, please can I have a Grinch quilt." Well, what's a Mother today when faced with a request like that! I secretly ordered the fabric and have been working on a Grinch quilt for Catherine for Christmas. A tricky business as my sewing room is downstairs and we spend a lot of time in there so – I've had to be very tidy with my secret sewing and make sure it's tucked away by school home time. Now, there were quite a few leftovers as I bought a fat quarter bundle so I hit upon the idea of using these to make the pillow and including it in Catherine's Grinch parcel for Christmas. More secret sewing during the day and hiding away at night! While I've been working on the pillow though, progress has halted on the quilt – but I will get it finished in time. 

As it's such a big pillow, it's a bit hard to photograph so I took a few close up pics as I was working on it. I wanted to add some sparkle to it and after some thought I dug out my Bejeweller gadget. I've not played with this for a while and had forgotten how much fun it is. I put red 'baubles' on the Christmas trees and a star on top of them. Then, I put some tiny crystals in the snow to make it glitter a bit, added a jewelled wreath to the door and finally, I put some silver stars in my black sky.

221112-1Silver Stars in the Sky


221112-2

Glittering Snow

221112-3
Wreath on the door

221112-4
Blinged Christmas Tree

221112-5
A flat picture before I turned it into a pillow. I quilted all over in matching colours. All of the applique is fusible web and stitched down at the quilting stage except for the felt which I just used a few dabs of glue to stick down and then stitched down by machine.

221112-7

The finished pillow. Although I loved the flanges I decided to go with a wider pillow and so didn't do those.

221112-6
The back of the pillow. There was a lovely panel in my fat quarter bundle which was perfect for the back of the pillow.

I'm really pleased with how it turned out and I hope my daughter will be too. I may even make another one once time is more freely available as this one was so much fun to make. 

I've been having a great time hopping around and seeing all the various different versions of Jill's pillow – it really is wonderful and inspiring to see everybody's different versions of the same pattern. 

Hope you've got a nice warm brew in your hands as there are plenty more blogs to hop to on today's schedule.

Living Life One Day at a Time

Polka Dot Classic

Sophie Junction

I'm Keeping Busy

Sunshine Quilting

The Treehouse <—– UR Here

Petit Design Co

Nunu's Quilt World

Ellison Lane Quilts

From This to That

Mary on Lake Pulaski

Loose Threads

Till We Quilt Again

13 Woodhouse Road

This entry was posted in 2012 stitching, Blog Hops. Bookmark the permalink.

70 Responses to Holiday Lane Blog Hop – Grinch Lane!

  1. Love your Grinch take on the Holiday Lane Pillow!

  2. evelyn says:

    Daughter is going to love this. The jewels add so much sparkle. Perfect!

  3. Rosemary says:

    Oh Ilove your pillow very much
    Love the perky fabrics and those Grinch fabrics are so fun
    Thank you for sharing your creativity

  4. Bente says:

    -really great, clear colors beautiful details, schön!!!
    Liebe Grüße
    Bente in Germany

  5. JudyCnNC says:

    So very, very cute and I love your pillow. Judy C

  6. Frances says:

    The embellishments you used are so cute. Your daughter is going to be so excited when she opens her gift. Wonderful memories to be created.

  7. Judy K says:

    You have been busy, but the pillow is awesome!! Hope to see pictures of the quilt after Christmas.

  8. Kathy Gentry says:

    I love all of the embellishments. How can the Grinch remain so wicked with all of those cute houses in Whoville?

  9. Sue says:

    very nice, love the Colours, lovely and bright.
    Happy Christmas!

  10. Denise :) says:

    Love your Grinch-y pillow!!! It’s such fun … perfect for Whoville!! 🙂

  11. Carole says:

    That is gorgeous! Catherine is going to love it 🙂

  12. MoeWest says:

    Your Grinch pillow looks great! I’m sure the quilt and pillow will be a big hit on Christmas morning.

  13. Pamela says:

    Love all your details. The wreath, candle…all of them. Thanks for sharing!

  14. Great Colorful pillow and Post..

  15. Beth says:

    Very cute pillow! Thanks for sharing.

  16. Your pillow is so cute…love it. Thanks for sharing.

  17. Margaret says:

    Your Christmas pillow turned out great. Love the wreath on the door and the decorated tree.

  18. Perfect stitching!!!! Can’t wait to see the finished product…

Leave a Reply

