Dare to Dresden Blog Hop

Daretodresden

Welcome to the first day of the Dare to Dresden blog hop. A big thank you to Christine of Quilt Monster in My Closet and Mdm Samm for all the time,  hard work and encouragement that goes into making these hops work and be such fun.  

My project is from a free pattern that Jenny of Elefantz gave away some time ago. I love sunflowers so this wallhanging was perfect for me. The fabric is Charlevoix by Minick and Simpson – love those cherries and the faded blues and reds of this line.


230113-3
I didn't have a thread that went nicely with the background red fabric so I quilted using invisible thread and I'm really pleased with the way it's turned out. I stitched all around the sunflower's head to make it pop – you can't tell from the photo but it has popped really well. 


230113-2

This is the little poem at the top of the quilt stitched in a very pretty multi-coloured lemon thread and below is the close up of one of the bumble bees (I love bees) and the Dresden flower.


230113-1

Thanks for visiting. Hope you've got a nice warm drink in hand so that you can sit and sip while you enjoy hopping along to the rest of today's participants.



The TreeHouse <——— that's me, you are here

 

This entry was posted in 2013 Stitching, Blog Hops. Bookmark the permalink.

116 Responses to Dare to Dresden Blog Hop

  1. This is super sweet! I love sunflowers and your bee is delightful. Great stitching!

  2. Cathy Rayes says:

    Very pretty! Thanks for sharing

  3. Bern says:

    Love your Dresden flower!

  4. evelyn says:

    Love your sunflower. Those are the cutest little bumblebees. I have always wondered what it would be like to quilt with invisible thread-thanks for sharing.

  5. Nancy D says:

    I love how this was turned into a pretty sunflower! It’s adorable!

  6. Suze says:

    How adorable. I love the bees,too! You did a remarkable job! I love the colors and the lemon looks gorgeous on the background. How are you going to use it?

  7. Great stitching! Dresdens make the prettiest flowers =)

  8. wendy says:

    so lovely, what a great way of using a dresden!

  9. Theresa says:

    Really adorable!

  10. carla bynum says:

    Hi!! Beautiful!! Love the bee!! Very sweet verse too!!! Thanks for the fun!!!

  11. Leah says:

    Dresdens make perfect flowers. Love yours!!

  12. Mara says:

    Cute, I really like it.

  13. Ellie Q says:

    What a sweet sunflower! I love the extra touches you added to it!

  14. Kris S says:

    I love your sunflower. Your color choice is so neat. I just signed up for Jenny’s newsletter so I can get the pattern too. Really cute.

  15. Karrie Smith says:

    I love your wall hanging! I love the orange background that you used. And the bees are so adorable. Thanks for sharing it with us 😉

Leave a Reply

