Nancy Drew is a Clue

Nancy

Day 3 of the Nancy Drew blog and it's my turn to show my creations. As Always, thank you to Mdm Samm and Cheerleader Carol for their tireless efforts in organising such a fun event. I've never really bought a lot of novelty fabric but the Nancy Drew fabric was irresistable and it's even more lovely in real life and a great deal of fun to play with. 
Sleuth your way to the end of my post and see if you can work out what my favourite thing to do, other than sewing, is!

Clue 1
I use this small electronic device, or a real life version of the type of thing that it stores, daily. I decided that it really needed a little home of its own to next in during the times that I'm sewing on my sewing machine.

070313-1
and the inside…

070313-2
I used 3 of my favourite Nancy Drew fabrics to make this case – the black magnifying glass, the red silhouette and the bookshelf.

Clue 2
I love to hand sew – applique, cross stitch, embroidery, English paper piecing etc. I thought for a long time about how I could accomplish my other favourite thing to do while I am sewing. The solution to the puzzle involves the use of a set of headphones. I like big headphones that stay on my head not those little ear buds which refuse to stay in my ears. I thought that the headphones also needed a nesting place for when they're not in use and came up with this…

070313-3
and look inside…there's plenty of room - 

070313-4
I can even fit my other device inside and probably a sewing project or two as well!

070313-5
Clue 3
I thought that a little celebratory quilt was in order next. So, I whipped out the fusible web and went to town drawing and cutting, snipping and ironing. Coffee and a Cozy was the result…
070313-6

Did you solve the mystery? It wasn't really very hard was it? I have always loved books and reading. There aren't many books that I won't read or try but I do love to snuggle up with a quilt, a cup of good coffee and a cozy mystery book now and again – it feels like a real treat. I can often go from start to finish without moving from my spot!
When I was young, there was no book shop in our little town so it was a good long trek to nearest one but what a treat that was when we made the journey – usually to spend birthday or Christmas money. I can remember choosing Nancy Drew and the Hardy boys books along with a wide range of other books. Other than that, our library got a lot of visits from me! These days of course, I can buy a book in the space of a few seconds by clicking a few buttons on my Kindle and I can listen to books on my iPod, downloaded from the internet in the space of a few minutes and I can drive into town and buy real life books. 
Here are all my 3 clues together…

070313-7

Now for a few credits…
the tutorial/pattern for the Kindle case came from Melissa at http://www.100billionstars.blogspot.com
the tutorial for the open wide zipper pouch for my headphones came from Anna at http://www.noodle-head.com/
the pattern for the book and the mug on my quilt came from Anni Downs' book Some Kind of Wonderful.
Now, in order to further hone your sleuthing skills you'll need to follow the clues below so that you can visit the rest of today's bloggers and enjoy their creations. 






This entry was posted in 2013 Stitching, Applique, Bags, Blog Hops. Bookmark the permalink.

71 Responses to Nancy Drew is a Clue

  1. jan says:

    ADORABLE! The mini quilt is my favorite!!!!!
    Great job!

  2. Catherine says:

    It`s all great. Nicely done!

  3. kathy h says:

    Great ideas to use that fun fabric. Love those little bags.

  4. Theresa says:

    Love your projects!

  5. Jane says:

    Oh my gosh, I just love what you made!!!

  6. Jane says:

    Wow, how cool. I like your Kindle case, gee, I like the Kindle. Wish I had one. I would make a cool cover for it like yours. Your projects are all so lovely.

  7. Barbie K In NC says:

    Love the “Read” & “Listen”! B-)

  8. Susan says:

    I have a cover for my Kindle and think now that you have inspired me that maybe I need a new cover – something bright. I’m glad you seem to enjoy your Kindle. I’d still rather have a real book in my hands. That’s probably strange for someone who worked on computers for 30 years. I also enjoyed Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys. Isn’t great those of us who’v had those experiences remember them together. Thank you for participating in the blog hop and being a great creative inspiration for projects and reading, too.

  9. ida says:

    I love all three of your “clues”. WEll done.

  10. Lyn M says:

    Really nice! Thanks for sharing

  11. LJ says:

    Great projects for reading and listening! It is so amazing how things have changed with the technology age. No matter what…there’s nothing so exquisite as ‘cozy’ with a good bok.

  12. Lori Morton says:

    Love all three projects!!! Your creative juices were flowing for sure!! Grrrreat job!!!

  13. Marlene says:

    I’m in love with them all – fabulous idea! blessings, marlene

  14. Sandra Davidson says:

    Very creative, I have a Kobo and have been wanting to make a cover for it. I love the quilt to cuddle under too. Great job.

  15. Kim S. says:

    Wonderful projects. I love the wording you’ve placed on your pouch. Very nice.

  16. Frances says:

    Three perfect projects. Mystery solved.

  17. Karrie Smith says:

    I love all your “clues”. The projects are super cute. My daughter can’t stand ear buds either, and I think I might make a little bag that she can keep her ipod and headphones in. I’m also an avid bookreader! I love to curl up with a good book.

  18. cliodana says:

    love the pouch! great choice of fabric
    have a nice blog hop this week

  19. Laura says:

    Your projects are amazing. Great work!!

  20. Vicki says:

    What a cute set you made. I love the mini quilt, it’s really fun!

Leave a Reply

