Song of the Seasons and Woolly News

While we were away on a little break at the weekend the postman was busily delivering a new project. It was such a lovely surprise when we arrived home as I’d not been expecting it to arrive just yet. The project in question is the Little House Needleworks Mystery Sampler ‘Song of the Seasons’. As I finished up my cottages and have been busily working away on several WIPs lately I decided to treat myself and start it this week. I began yesterday evening and below is the progress so far…

Image

I think I must have had the flash on when I took this photo because the fabric is darker in real life and this photo really doesn’t do it justice at all, it’s a beautiful rich, gold colour. I’ll be stitching on it some tonight. I don’t want to fall behind as part two will arrive next month.

At the weekend we went up to Cockermouth to visit the Woolfest. This was our first visit and we thoroughly enjoyed it. There was everything there that a fibre artist could wish for really – including live yarn!

Image

Aren’t these Alpacas adorable? they weren’t available to bring home though! We made a few purchases of yarn from some new to us vendors. Catherine started knitting as soon as we got back to Winnie. She bought a lovely pattern for some lacy fingerless gloves and some sparkly jade fingering weight to knit them in. The first glove was finished last night and she has started the second one this afternoon.

Image

The yarn and pattern were from Yarn Addict. I also bought some laceweight yarn from here in a raspberry colour with touches of purple and a lovely shawl pattern. From Ripple Crafts I bought some more raspberry coloured yarn – I was forcing myself away from purple and green and got rather carried away on the pink front! Anyway, it’s really pretty and I intend to knit Laura Nelkin’s Clarus pattern  with this…

ImageBit blurry but you can get the gist of the beautiful colour.

While we were away, during the evenings and also during the driving time I worked on my hexagons and am now over half way done…

Image

One final photo! I promised this quite a while ago and kept on forgetting. I started a knit a long with Laura Nelkin’s Ravelry group a while back to knit her Juego shawl. It was actually a mystery knit a long so I had no idea what I was knitting at first! This was a great way to learn and try out some new knitting techniques and I really enjoyed the process. The pattern was released in 5 clues and I completed up to the end of clue 3. At that point, I decided that I wanted to finish off my cottages so that I would have them completed before the Mystery sampler arrived and I put the knitting away. Once I’ve finished this part of the mystery sampler I shall crack on with clue 4 which is the absolutely stunning edging and another new to me knitting technique.

Image

That turned into quite a large post! Hopefully I will be back later this week with an update on the LHN Song of the Seasons.

This entry was posted in 2013 Stitching, Cross Stitch, Hexagons, Knitting, Laura Nelkin Designs, LHN Song of the Seasons, Little House Needleworks and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Song of the Seasons and Woolly News

  1. Carole says:

    Oh my! I want me one of those Alpacas 🙂

    That shawl is divine. The colours! Absolutely delicious. I love Catherine’s glove too. It looks really intricate. She’s knitted it up so quickly too.

    Pretty yarn you have there and you do know you’re making me want to start my Mystery SAL Right Now *grin*

  2. Toni says:

    What beautiful colour yarns Theresa. It certainly looks like you have been busy and are likely to remain so for a while. Love the way the quilt is coming together.
    Toni xx

Leave a Reply

