Fabriholics Anonymous

I seem to have accumulated a considerable fabric stash over the last few years. When I started quilting I wanted only to buy by the project…that hasn’t really worked out! There’s just too much lovely fabric out there and while I do buy by the project I can’t sew quickly enough to make all of the projects that I want to make! Of course, I did fall into the habit of buying ‘because it’s lovely’ as well. The result is – too much fabric sitting waiting for me to cut it up and stitch it together! I read a post on Jess’s blog this morning about swearing off buying any fabric in 2014. It sounds hard to do but I think it’s necessary. I have quite a lot of WIPs that I would like to finish and quite a lot of fabric that I would love to see doing something instead of sitting on my shelves. I’ve decided to join in :gulp:

Here are the rules/goals…

GOALS:
– To use the Stash I already have!
– Finish UFOs without distraction by shifting to other new beautiful fabric.
– Stop the insanity of constantly buying the latest and greatest fabric.
– Save the £££ I spend on stashing.
– Destash the fabrics that I realize I am never going to use.
FABRIC FAST RULES:
1) No fabric purchases for 6 months beginning January 1, 2014.   
2) At 6 months reevaluate status and decide whether to keep going for full year.  Evaluation July 1, 2014.
3) Create a UFO list and complete them!
4) Exceptions
  • Backing: purchasing a backing to finish a quilt top is permissible.  However, attempting to use fabric in your possession for a backing is preferable.
  • Books and Magazine purchases are allowed as they are not fabric.  Notions acceptable too.
  • Swap Mama Fabric: if hosting a swap you are permitted to by fabric to execute swap duties, but you may not join a swap simply for the sake of being able to buy fabric!
  • Quilts for Publication: if you are making a quilt for a publication and need certain fabric to execute it correctly then that is a major exception – who can blame you?

Now straight away I’m going to have to say that there is something that I need to buy :blush: I’ve been stitching away on the Hexy MF quilt and almost have all of the flowers stitched together – I think I have something like 15 left to stitch onto the quilt top. Back when I started making this quilt I knew it would take ages so I chose but did not buy the border/binding fabric – I’ll need to get that to finish it off. Am I cheating already? I hope not. I will see if I can piece together the backing from existing fabric though instead of buying some so a bit of a trade off there I think 🙂 I have more than enough projects lined up to keep me sewing for the next few lifetimes so I’ve no reason to run out of things to make. Here’s to seeing plenty of finished quilts in 2014 and the cessation of the groaning from my shelves at the weight they’re carrying!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fabriholics Anonymous

  1. Carole says:

    This’ll be interesting. I’m looking forward to seeing all your lovely projects but watching you resist the lure of more fabric or new projects is going to be fun 😉

    You’re very brave.

  2. katie says:

    way to go and best of luck — I linked up as well so I will be coming back and checking on you. I already know February is going to be a rough one for me, our guild is doing a yard sale fundraiser of destash fabrics and notions — so I may cheat then because it’s for a good cause.

  3. Anita says:

    I’m really thinking I need to join this too…I don’t actually buy much fabric, but there’s always that desire…and I have a stash…so I might be encouraged to jump on board…going to read some more blog posts about people willing to commit! =)

  4. hydeeann says:

    i think this idea rang true with a lot of us . . . but most of us aren’t excited about it even if we’re signing on. good for you! getting those wips done and those still-loved fabrics off the shelf is going to feel so good. as for the purchase you need to make for your hexie project – no, you’re not cheating. I think intentional, pre-planned buying to finish a wip is perfectly acceptable. hopefully we’ll all start doing more of that type of buying in the future.

    ps – I host an epp link party each month. the next one is dec 14th. if your hexies are epp, please bring them over to “in hand”! I’d love to see them. =)

  5. Jane says:

    Good luck! I gave up on thinking I’d just buy for the project years ago, and consequently my stash is crazy! I’m looking forward to the challenge of making do :).

  6. Melanie says:

    Good luck! I’ve decided to join in and I’m already dreading it. I really need to curb my fabric spending though. It has really gotten out of control. I’m looking forward to seeing all of your finished projects!

  7. Maureen says:

    I am trying to work my way through the long list of participants in Fabriholics Annonymous and I to in my early days of quilting would buy just what I needed for a specific project, that didn’t last long!
    I have fabric to last another 20 years at a guess so decided what a good idea to join up. Looking forward to following our progress.

  8. Gillie says:

    Oh well done, I am doing a similar one with stitching stash. You get $25 a month to spend, you can save it up for a splash or spend ahead, your choice. One thing…..if you have a project already in the works or planned then it doesn’t have to be counted, so you are in the clear, lol!

Leave a Reply

