A touch of Crochet

I have always liked crocheting – my Mum taught me many, many years ago, but I’ve never really made much beyond a few Granny squares or simple blankets. On a recent trip to the Black Sheep Wool shop I spotted a book called Twenty to Make : Crocheted Beanies by Frauke Kiedaisch for the bargain price of £4.99. I have a daughter who loves hats so it was a must buy! I was a bit daunted by actually making a hat but decided that for a fiver I would have a go.

New Year’s Eve saw the birth of this creation…

 

 

 

150114-4

This is Baker Boy, from the book and it uses one ball of Rowan Big Wool – it was made in no time at all. I was quite impressed with myself!

Next up was this Cloche Hat. This isn’t in the book but is a pattern that I bought from Ravelry called the Garbo Cloche I used 2 balls of Wendy Thor. Although the yarn was the type specified it was turning into a huge creation so I had to make a few adjustments. Again – it was made in no time at all.

 

150114-5

My third creation was also from the book and is called Shades of Grey in the book…

150114-6

See my beautiful model there? The Baker Boy cap graced her head up until this one was finished and it’s barely left her head since…just when sleeping I think! This yarn is Stylecraft Swift Knit – beautifully soft, I wish I’d bought more of it but I bought it in the sale and it’s since sold out. If I were making this one again I would probably make a smaller bobble, I got a bit carried away with the size of the thing and it turned out to be enormous! This one took a little bit longer to make mostly due to the bobble I think!

Next up – another Baker Boy! When I bought the book a young friend spied the Baker Boy and admired it. Full of my successes I decided to whip another one up just for her in her favourite colour…

 

 

150114-7This yarn was a gorgeous red colour and is called Sirdar Big Softie (on sale too!)

Finally I set out to make another one from the book that Catherine had expressed a liking for. This one proved tricky – very tricky. Luckily I started making it at our monthly get together and so had a lot of help from friend Karin. This is as far as I’ve got with it…

150114-8Now I was quite keen to carry on but after all this enjoyment the RSI decided to say “no more” very loudly! So, I’ve had to give it rest for a while and do something else. I have thoroughly enjoyed my little crocheting adventure though and will be back to it as soon as I have the ok from my wrist/arm whatever!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A touch of Crochet

  1. Carole says:

    Fabulous! You’ve made some lovely hats there 🙂

  2. Natty says:

    Lovely makes Tree, I am looking forward to seeing the entire book brought to life, however I must say that Garbo cloche is splendid! Very Downton. 😉 And your model is gorgeous! xx

Leave a Reply

