Fabriholics Anonymous – January

So this is my report for January on how I’ve managed on the fabric spending front. I. Have.Spent. Not. One. Penny. On. Fabric. Yes indeedy – although I was sorely tempted when Melissa at Happy Quilting started her quilt a long. Let’s find a link for that – Star Light Star Bright Quilt a Long

I wanted to make some of the really large sized blocks but when I hunted through my fabric there wasn’t enough yardage of enough fabrics to do it. I even went so far as to tell myself that I could allow a background fabric purchase if I could locate sufficient prints etc from my stash for the other fabrics. Anyway, it wasn’t a goer so I am just going to have to be happy with a smaller sized block and make either a cushion or a lap quilt. It’s not a problem – it’s not as though I have a lack of other projects to work on! (thinking of all those BOM I have stashed away!)

So, what have I worked on this month? Not a great deal really on the quilting front. I have started foundation piecing December’s Lucky Stars blockΒ for an eventual runner for my dressing table. Although I didn’t make all of last year’s Lucky Stars blocks I did sign up for this years patterns too – I really like the designs and I have a large quilt in mind using a lot of the stars. I got about half way through this star before Catherine fell ill with a vicious bug which has kept her away from college all of this week. I don’t recall her ever being so poorly before as to need an entire week away from school. As she’s been at home all week, I’ve spent my time sitting with her instead of spending any time in my sewing room. Not good for the quilting but very good for the crocheting and the brow soothing!

250114-1

 

I’m looking forward to finishing this off and making another one – I’m using my precious stash of Fig Tree fabrics.

I did spend some time last weekend preparing some more applique for the Evelyn’s Album quilt. I cut out all of the pieces for block 3 and traced the shapes for the blocks 4 and 5. I think this week, given that no more bugs occur, I’ll get those three finished up and ready for the embroidery. I really enjoy these blocks a great deal. I have two more Primitive Gatherings quilt kits to make. I’m trying to be good and not start another one until I’ve got all of the blocks stitched for this one.

250114-2

 

So yes, this month has gone really well on the spending front and there was really only that one urge I had to take part in the quilt a long and honestly – I have more than enough things to be making, I really don’t need another one! I will file it away for the future though and perhaps content myself with making a pillow from the block design this time.

This entry was posted in 2014 Stitching, Applique, Evelyn's Album, Foundation Piecing, Lucky Stars BOM and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fabriholics Anonymous – January

  1. Carole says:

    Well done on not spending πŸ™‚
    I’ve just had a look at that link and had to come away again quickly when I saw that it was suitable for beginners. I’ve got plenty to be going on with and do not need to add any more to my project lists πŸ˜›

  2. Congratulations on spending “Not. One. Penny.”! Was it easier than you thought? It is very hard for me – the online spending allows for wonderful little packages to arrive in the mail. It’s like Christmas all year long. No Christmas this month. πŸ˜‰

  3. Toni says:

    I’m not sure I could ever be that strong – I bought some lovely Christmas fabrics before Christmas even though I knew I would not have any spare time to actually make anything with them. You never know…I might have a load of lovely Christmas makes to scatter around the house next Holiday season (ooooo, was that a pig flying past my window **giggle**).
    Toni xx

  4. Jane says:

    Good on you for not buying anything, especially when there was a new project tempting you. Well done!

  5. hydeeann says:

    oh, good for you! I did make a few small allowed purchases at the end of the month, but am feeling the guilt. what is your favorite fig tree line? I’m partial to strawberry fields.

    • Theresa says:

      I have a few favourite Fig Tree lines – like you I am a big fan of Strawberry Fields and I loved Patisserie but my all time favourite is Fig and Plum. I think that if I saw a stash of Fig and Plum for sale somewhere then my will power would falter and the stash diet would be busted!

Leave a Reply

