Magpie Clue 2 and Owl Basket

I finished clue 2 of the Magpie mystery knit a long last week. It was quite intense with all the beading – this is my first knit with beads. It’s looking really pretty with the beads and I’m pleased with the colours of the yarn. I decided though that a little break was needed before I tackle the challenge of clue 3 – lots more beading to come! Here it is at the end of clue 2…

020214-1

 

I decided that I would start on the owl basket crochet pattern that I recently bought as I thought it would be a relaxing project. I failed to get it going twice in one evening so set it aside and worked on a swap project (can’t show pictures of that yet) instead. Last night though I sat down and decided to try again and…success! woot woot! It’s not that it’s difficult really, the problem for me was that it requires you to use 4 strands of yarn and I was all over the place with it the first two times – things were twisted and I couldn’t see the stitches (because I’d twisted it!) Anyway, no matter because I got it going last night and I’m on a roll. It’s a little tiring on the hands with that huge thickness for yarn but the actual pattern itself is easy so far. Here’s where I’m at…

 

 

.

 

020214-2

 

 

I’m using Stylecraft Special Chunky in the colour parchment and I really like the colour – the Stylecraft yarn is ok too – this is my first time of using it. I think now that I’ve got going on it that this won’t take too long to crochet even with the breaks for hand fatigue!

This entry was posted in 2014 Stitching, Crochet, Knitting, Laura Nelkin Designs, Magpie MKAL and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Magpie Clue 2 and Owl Basket

  1. Carole says:

    Oh that looks splendid 🙂

  2. Toni says:

    Your knitting is certainly coming along – can’t wait to see what it looks like after you’ve dealt with clue 3. The crochet is looking good too.

    Toni xx

  3. You are quite the jack of all trades. I enjoy seeing the variety of projects you are working on. Bravo for persevering with the 4 strand crocheting. My hands are achy just thinking about it.

  4. Margaret says:

    Your knitting is very pretty in the colours you chose. I’ve never knitted with beads before – something else to try!

Leave a Reply

