Hooky News

It’s been a while since I did a crochet update so here we go. I’ve really been enjoying crochet this year and this owl basket was an absolute delight to make. I would have posted a picture of it before now but I had mislaid my bit of spare yarn for stitching his nose on! Found it yesterday and quickly stitched up a little nose for him. He’s doing a very fine job of storing the quilts that we use in the evenings when it’s chilly.

20140417-193618.jpg

He’ll fit quite a bit more inside yet, he’s by no means full up!

On my list of things to crochet is a blanket. I toyed with the idea of making the same lovely one as Carole but have tried several times to get going and failed miserably. I had the yarn sitting there waiting to be used so I decided to make one of Attic 24 Lucy’s lovely ripples.  As we were going away for a few days I thought it would be the perfect project to take along with me so I speedily hooked a chain a got going. I didn’t pay particular attention to the length of my chain – I did want it to be big but I do wonder whether perhaps I overdid it a bit!

20140417-150552.jpg

I should put the tape measure against it really. As I don’t have lots of different colours and because it’s so wide I’ve decided to do 4 rows of each colour. I’m using Stylecraft Special Aran with wool – it’s lovely and soft but limited in the number of colours available. The first colour is loganberry and the second is Neon. It’s very relaxing just rippling along – I’m on row three of the neon now so a bit further along than the photo shows.

 

 

Before I began the gigantic ripple project I been playing with my Stylecraft Special DK after being inspired by Sharron at Annie’s Place and I made these cute, mini Grannies. They’re destined to be either a scarf of a cushion, I’m not sure which yet.

20140417-150608.jpg

20140417-150625.jpg

I love these colours and unusually for me – there is not a hint of green! Not much cross stitching going on at the moment – it’s easier to crochet in the school holidays 🙂

This entry was posted in 2014 Stitching, Attic 24, Crochet, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hooky News

  1. The owl turned out beautifully! Loving your ripple blanket too, are they easy enough to do? (could I do it? I’ve always fancied one but it wouldn’t be as big as yours, lol!!) the scarf is coming along nicely too!

  2. The owl looks totally fab, what a cutie 🙂

  3. Carole says:

    Oh that owl basket is fabulous! I love him and how lovely that you have such a good use for him.

    Love the ripple blanket. That’s a great start on it.

    I really like the colour scheme for your grannies. They’re going to make something very pretty 🙂

Leave a Reply

